Tai Chi series includes the whole family

Tai ChiThe Southwest Oklahoma City Public Library is introducing families to the art of Tai Chi in its weekly series at the library. Classes are set for 6 p.m. each Monday in August in Rooms A and B.

The sessions will focus on improving health and wellness through the various forms and movements of Tai Chi. Certified instructor Chock Petchprom will lead the classes.

All ages may participate. Space is limited, so registration is required in advance, and participants also must sign a waiver or have a waiver signed by parent or guardian.

The program is made possible through the Health Literacy Grant by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries, Oklahoma Literacy Resource Office and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Join TRTL!

Clockwork Angel coverThe Southwest Oklahoma City Public Library has started a Teen Book Discussion Group, Teens Reading Terrific Literature (TRTL).

Join the first TRTL book discussion at 11 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 19, in the Teen Department. The group will be discussing Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.

Clockwork Angel is the first book in the Infernal Devices series, which has been a No. 1 New York Times bestseller. It's a look into how magic can be dangerous but love perhaps even more dangerous.

When Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld, where vampires, warlocks, and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Look for the books Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess, which also are part of the Infernal Devices Series.

And, these titles are good read-alikes for Clockwork Angel: A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray; Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood; Chime by Franny Billingsley; or The Necromancer by Michael Scott.

TRTL next meets at 11 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 16, for a discussion on the novel Wonder by RJ Palacio.

Pilates series set on Tuesdays in August

Workout matThe Southwest Oklahoma City Public Library presents its continuing series of Pilates classes with five sessions in August, at 6 p.m. each Tuesday of the month, beginning Tuesday, Aug. 1.

Pilates is a body conditioning routine that may help build flexibility, muscle strength, and endurance.

Ages 12 and up are invited to participate in the program. Space is limited, so registration is required in advance, and participants also must sign a waiver or have a waiver signed by parent or guardian.

The program is made possible through the Health Literacy Grant by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries, Oklahoma Literacy Resource Office and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.