Join TRTL!

Clockwork Angel coverThe Southwest Oklahoma City Public Library has started a Teen Book Discussion Group, Teens Reading Terrific Literature (TRTL).

Join the first TRTL book discussion at 11 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 19, in the Teen Department. The group will be discussing Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.

Clockwork Angel is the first book in the Infernal Devices series, which has been a No. 1 New York Times bestseller. It's a look into how magic can be dangerous but love perhaps even more dangerous.

When Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld, where vampires, warlocks, and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Look for the books Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess, which also are part of the Infernal Devices Series.

And, these titles are good read-alikes for Clockwork Angel: A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray; Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood; Chime by Franny Billingsley; or The Necromancer by Michael Scott.

TRTL next meets at 11 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 16, for a discussion on the novel Wonder by RJ Palacio.