Norman Public Library Central is closed until further notice. Visit our Library Lab or our 11 open locations! Click here for updates from the City of Norman.

logo brand label
Header Image
brand colored shapes overlay

Who We Are

We are innovators. We are your library. We are Pioneer Library System.

Awarded 2023 Oklahoma Library of the Year.

PLS was honored with the Oklahoma Library Association's inaugural Library of the Year award in 2023. This award recognizes an Oklahoma library or library system that has provided outstanding programs or services that can be emulated by other Oklahoma libraries or has significantly impacted the lives of people in their community.

“From being the first to implement innovative technology, the first in the nation to install a 24 Hour Library and locally-developed library mobile app, to being the first in the state to custom build and launch a Maker Mobile, to developing forward-thinking partnerships, such as the Cleveland County Jail Reset Pod and embedding Central Oklahoma Workforce Innovation Board staff in the library, PLS lives up to its namesake of pioneering library services.” -OLA President Tim Miller

   


Our Mission:

Inspiring innovation, engagement and learning in our communities.

Our Customer Service Philosophy:

Creating positive experiences for you.

Pioneer Library System Values:

Welcome | Empower | Respect

We are your library system.

The Pioneer Library System serves the residents of Cleveland, McClain, and Pottawatomie Counties through twelve branches in 10 communities and Information Stations in rural communities. All our branches are unique but are united under one library system.

Your hometown library is part of a larger system with access to resources, services, and programs to benefit everyone across our service area. PLS is fueled by a belief that by working individually we can make a difference, but together we are transformative.

Materials owned by the library system are accessible to all who live, work, own property or attend school in the service area. Administrative offices are located in Norman. All branches are open 7 days a week.

   

Administration

Staff Member Image

Lisa Wells

Title: Executive Director

lwells@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4511

Staff Member Image

Aiden Street

Title: Director of Community Engagement & Learning

astreet@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4504

Staff Member Image

Caroline Dulworth

Title: Director of Branch Services

caroline@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.701.2650

Staff Member Image

Kelly Sitzman

Title: Director of Communications & Employee Development

ksitzman@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4503

Staff Member Image

Doug Buck

Title: Director of Finance

dbuck@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4505

Staff Member Image

Janice Bailey

Title: Director of Technology & System Services

jbailey@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4560

Staff Member Image

Elissa Fox

Title: Director of Human Resources

efox@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4506

Staff Member Image

Jennifer Marshall

Title: Collections Coordinator

jmarshall@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4586

Staff Member Image

Leanne Cheek

Title: Readers' Services Coordinator

lcheek@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4581

Staff Member Image

Will Merrick

Title: Development Officer

wmerrick@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.801.4531

Staff Member Image

Phil Clark

Title: Regional Coordinator

philc@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.793.5100

Staff Member Image

Hillarie Kuhn

Title: Regional Coordinator

hkuhn@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.872.5713

Staff Member Image

Lisa Lempges

Title: Regional Coordinator

llempges@pioneerlibrarysystem.org

405.788.4132

Featured Content

Feature Image

Locations

Your PLS card is happily accepted at all PLS libraries.

Learn More
Feature Image

Strategic Plan

Our goals & direction

Learn More